top of page

Dedicated to Public Service

A member of the DFL Senate caucus, Ann Rest has represented District 45 in the MN Senate since 2001. She served as an assistant majority leader (2003 -2007) and Senate President Pro Tem (2013–2017).


Ann is the DFL Lead of the Taxes Committee, as well as a member of the Housing Policy and Finance Committee, Rules and Administration Committee, Minnesota Health Plan, and the Legislative Audit Commission (which she has chaired five times). She currently chairs the Financial Audit Committee. 


Before being elected to the Senate, Ann represented Crystal, New Hope, and Golden Valley in the House of Representatives.

Ann also is deeply involved in regional and national service:


  • National Caucus of Environmental Legislators

  • National Conference of State Legislatures                                                                                                                                            (Executive Committee Task Force on State and Local Taxation)

  • Midwest Legislative Conference, Council of State Governments (Fiscal Affairs Committee)

  • Great Lakes Commission, Minnesota Delegation

  • Great Lakes Legislative Caucus (Executive Committee)

  • Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board (President 2021)

  • Minnesota Center for Fiscal Excellence

  • Bob Allison Ataxia Research Center Board, University of Minnesota Foundation

  • Clean Energy and Climate Caucus

Senate chamber.jpg
bottom of page